Strategy Nomads Can Drive Organizations Nowhere

Posted: July 20, 2010 in Culture, Innovate, Leadership, Motivation
Tags: , , , , , ,

Imagine trying to lead your organization while adopting the ideas of the latest best selling business book (each month).  One can imagine that it could get a little crazy.  I’m all for reading, I have stacks of books everywhere (I know — Kindle or iPad, it’s on my list of things to do this year) and consider lifelong learning a personal mission.  What I don’t do is sit in each team meeting with entire new vision, direction, priorities, core values, strategies, or key metrics each week/month/year.

Books

OK team, trying to be Great is so last month, now we’re going to focus on Switch as we’re Built to Sell while Delivering Happiness, Find Our Strengths, identify The Outliers and try to make sure we all have a 4-Hour Workweek.

Strategy nomads bounce from one strategy or opportunity to the next.  It can lead to noise, confusion and the delivery of…well, nothing or very little.  Interestingly, strategy nomads also find it far easier to create new measures than to eliminate old (think obsolete) measures.

Maybe it’s not the volume of business tomes hitting the shelves, it could very well be the need to explore, evaluate and embrace the organization’s purpose.  We must be careful and ensure that our strategies do not overwhelm our mission and goals.

Anecdotal leadership will only provide anecdotal results.

Maybe the one book that truly matters is the one that could be written about your organization’s impact.

What’s your most recent favorite book?  Why?

Like This!

Comments
  1. Sara says:

    Strategy nomads. I like that concept.

    I’m on the search for my favorite business book. Not sure I’ve found it yet. Though, I recently read Dan Pink’s “A Whole New Mind” and that certainly turned on a few light bulbs.

    • I don’t think I’ll ever really have a favorite. I just finished Rework by Fried and Hansson which really spoke to my rebellious nature, Delivering Happiness by Hsieh about Zappos culture was a company biography, and Linchpin by Godin which I likely consider at the top of my list — probably until he publishes his next tome. Thanks for taking the time to share, going to grab Pink’s book now.

Leave a Reply

