The Good, The Bad & The Ugly of Asking Questions Right

Posted: August 24, 2010 in Culture, Leadership, Motivation
Tags: , , ,

In addition to asking the right questions, ask questions right.

I bit my tongue the second the end of the question left my lips (damn, I asked that wrong).  The young staff member at the table looked down at his notes deflated and said, “I don’t know, I hadn’t through of that.”  I’d noticed a weakness in the idea he was presenting and that wicked part of my mind (the weak part – Seth Godin refers to it as the lizard brain) jumped all over it.  I was not serving as an ‘angel advocate‘.  I’d asked the right question…wrong.

How we ask is as important as what we ask.  How we ask can:

Good
Unite
Motivate/Inspire/Teach
Create Change

or

Bad & Ugly
Incite
Criticize/Divide
Expose

It is a skill to ask the right questions — it’s an art of leadership to ask the right questions well.  We must consider why and how we are asking before we utter a sound.

I’m still learning.  How do you ask your questions?

Leave a Reply

